Fenghuang Mountain Scenic Area


It is located on Fenghuang Avenue in Fengcheng City in Dandong.


As early as the Daoguang Period of the Qing Dynasty, Fenghuang Mountain along with Yiwu Lu Mountain, Qian Mountain and Yao Mountain were regarded as the four famed mountains in Liaoning Province. It was called “the most famed mountain in east Liaoning” in ancient times, and is reputed as “a famed mountain that can be regarded as the window of the nation”, “the most famed mountain of the Great Wall” as well as “the most famed mountain for adventure in China.” In January 1994, it was approved as a key state-level tourist spot by the State Council.


Fenghuang Mountain was once named “Wugu Mountain”, “Heng Mountain”, “Wu Mountain” and “Xiong Mountain”. Then in the Zhenguan Period of the Tang Dynasty, Emperor Taizong of Tang - Li Shimin conferred the name “Fenghuang Mountain” on it. Fenghuang Mountain is part of Changbai Mountain. The highest peak – Zanyun Peak – is at an elevation of 836.4 meters. It is renowned all around north Liaoning province for its majestic and steep cliffs, deep and remote caves, bizarre plants as well as its picturesque scenery in all four seasons.

Fenghuang Mountain is separated into four scenic areas, namely, West Mountain, East Mountain, Temple Valley and Ancient City. The main one is Xi Mountain Scenic Area, where Zanyun Peak rises amidst breathtaking scenery such as “Back of the Ox” and “Wonder in the world.” Remote caves, such as “Fenghuang Cave” and “Tongxuan Cave” also dot the area along with amazing landscapes like “Sea of Clouds” and “Flowing Stream and Pouring Fall.

” The East Mountain Scenic Area is a fantastic place to be close to the nature. At present, there are artificial landscapes including tourist steps, sightseeing pavilions, sightseeing bridges and a lake. The Ancient City consists of Wugu City of the Southern and Northern Dynasties, Xiongshan City of the Sui and Tang Dynasties along with Sanyang City of the Liao Dynasty.

The existing structures are mainly palaces and temples, among which Ziyang Temple, Doumu Palace, Kwan-yin Pavilion, Bixia Palace and Yaowang Temple are the most famous. The Ancient City is a state-level key cultural relic conservation unit.

The traditional Yaowang Temple Fair is held on the 28th day of the 4th lunar month every year. It lasts for four days and the temple area will be full of people.

How to get there:

You can take the bus at the Dandong Coach Bus Station to Fenghuang Mountain by paying 7.5 yuan.

Tips & articles

Phoenix mountain(Fenghuang Mountain) can compete with Mount Hua in terms of grotesqueness and steepness although it is not as high as Mount Hua, one of the Five Most Sacred Mountains in China. The roads on Phoenix Mountain, like the ridge of old oxen, are ...Read More
By TOM WATKINS For Journal Register Newspapers I am back from my most recent trip to China. For the more than two decades I have been traveling here, I am unable to absorb all the grandeur, natural beauty and goodwill of the local people in a single visit. I ...Read More
Mount Fanjing(Fanjingshan) represents the summit of the Wuling Mountain Range of south-central China proper (if one abstracts from the autonomous regions for a moment), in the area where Guizhou and Henan Provinces converge with the border of Chongqing ...Read More

forum discussion

Recent posts

by Trudy 2011-05-20
Xingmeng Mongolia Nationality township is situated under the foot of Fenghuang Mountain and is the only dwelling area of Mongolia nationality in Yunnan. It has a history of more than a thousand years with unique ethnic culture. There are about 20 scenic spots here, including Sansheng Temple where three saints of Mongolia nationality are worshiped, Sanjiao ...